Blackfoot — Siogo (1983)

In 1983 Ken Hensley joined Blackfoot, an American band who played “southern rock”. By the time Ken already relocated to the U.S., and before joining Blackfoot he tried to tour America with his own band (Ken Hensley Band). Blackfoot was quite popular, and their three previous albums charted American Top 50. Inviting Hensley was a part of the change in sound and image of the band, and such changes eventually led to the breakup.

«Siogo» became the band’s sixth studio album and the first of the two that were created with Ken Hensley. Recording took place at Subterranean Studios (Ann Arbor, Mich.). For this album Ken contributed a song «Send Me An Angel». He was also credited as a songwriter of «Run For Cover» and «Sail Away» (together with other Blackfoot members). Ken played keyboards and slide guitar and did backing vocals.

The album was released in May 1983 by Atco label and charted in the USA, but its peak position (No. 82) was a disappointment. In the summer of 1983, in the midst of the tour, the manager informed Blackfoot that they should immediately start working on new material to raise interest in the band. However, some musicians did not want to work on the future record («Vertical Smiles») while touring, so the work was postponed until autumn.

Track list:

  1. Send Me An Angel (Hensley/Williams) 4.36
  2. Crossfire (Medlocke/Spires/Hargrett/Barth) 4.08
  3. Heart’s Grown Cold (Cleminson) 3.32
  4. We’re Goin’ Down (Medlocke/Spires) 4.12
  5. Teenage Idol (Medlocke/Spires) 4.48
  6. Goin’ In Circles (Medlocke/Spires) 3.06
  7. Run For Cover (Medlocke/Spires/Hensley) 4.21
  8. White Man’s Land (Medlocke/Spires) 2.55
  9. Sail Away (Medlocke/Spires/Hargrett/Hensley) 4.30
  10. Drivin’ Fool (Medlocke/Spires) 4.45


  • Rick Medlocke — lead vocals, guitars
  • Jackson Spires — percussion, backing vocals
  • Ken Hensley — keyboards, backing vocals, slide guitar
  • Charlie Hargrett — guitars
  • Greg T. Walker — bass guitar

Producer — Al Nalli.
Engineer — Pat Schneider.

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also
subscribe to these comments via RSS.
Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.

Публикации

Blackfoot — Siogo (1983)

В 1983 году Кен Хенсли принял предложение стать участником группы Blackfoot. К тому времени он уже два года жил в США, где у него был неудачный опыт гастролей с собственной группой Ken Hensley Band. Blackfoot — коллектив, работавший в стиле «южный рок», и на момент, когда было решено пригласить Кена в свой состав, Blackfoot пользовался достаточно большой популярностью (три предыдущих альбома попали в Top 50 американского хит-парада). Предполагались (и были реализованы в течение ближайших двух лет) изменения в имидже и звучании группы, что в итоге привело к распаду Blackfoot.

«Siogo» стал шестым студийным альбомом группы и первым из двух, созданных с участием Кена Хенсли. Запись происходила в студии Subterranean (Энн-Арбор, штат Мичиган). Для этого альбома Кен написал песню «Send Me An Angel» (в соавторстве с Джеком Уильямсом), плюс к тому его имя указано в качестве автора «Run For Cover» и «Sail Away» (вместе с другими участниками Blackfoot). Кен также сыграл на клавишных и слайд-гитаре и исполнил партии бэк-вокала.

Альбом вышел в мае 1983 года на лейбле Atco и попал в американские чарты, однако его максимальная позиция (No. 82) была разочарованием. Летом 1983 года, посреди турне, менеджмент сообщил участникам Blackfoot, что надо немедленно приступать к работе над новым материалом, чтобы поднять интерес к группе. Однако часть музыкантов не хотела заниматься в турне еще и будущей пластинкой, поэтому работать над следующим альбомом («Vertical Smiles») группа начала лишь осенью.

Список треков:

  1. Send Me An Angel (Hensley/Williams) 4.36
  2. Crossfire (Medlocke/Spires/Hargrett/Barth) 4.08
  3. Heart’s Grown Cold (Cleminson) 3.32
  4. We’re Goin’ Down (Medlocke/Spires) 4.12
  5. Teenage Idol (Medlocke/Spires) 4.48
  6. Goin’ In Circles (Medlocke/Spires) 3.06
  7. Run For Cover (Medlocke/Spires/Hensley) 4.21
  8. White Man’s Land (Medlocke/Spires) 2.55
  9. Sail Away (Medlocke/Spires/Hargrett/Hensley) 4.30
  10. Drivin’ Fool (Medlocke/Spires) 4.45

Список музыкантов:

  • Рик Медлок (Rick Medlocke) — основной вокал, гитара
  • Джексон Спайрс (Jackson Spires) — перкуссия, бэк-вокал
  • Кен Хенсли — клавишные, бэк-вокал, слайд-гитара
  • Чарли Харгретт (Charlie Hargrett) — гитара
  • Грег Т. Уолкер (Greg T. Walker) — бас-гитара

Продюсер — Эл Налли (Al Nalli).
Звукоинженер — Pat Schneider.

Author: Elena Stepanova

Этот материал также доступен на другом языке: Английский

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also
subscribe to these comments via RSS.
Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.