The Gods — Genesis (1968)

The Gods’ debut album was released by Columbia in 1968 (Columbia SCX 6286). Musically it is a typical late ’60s British psychedelic rock. The album was recorded at Abbey Road Studios. According to the producer David Paramor, “the formality of the ‘studio test’ was waived, and the band prepared to record an album immediately”. “Genesis” was completed during ten 3-hour sessions at Studio 3, a four-track studio at the time.

Ken Hensley co-wrote three songs for “Genesis” with the guitarist Joe Konas. Ken also sang lead vocals and played guitar and keyboards. The 1994 re-issue CD (Repertoire REP 4418-WY) included several bonus tracks (three of them written by Ken Hensley) that were published as The Gods’ singles in the late ’60s.

Track list:

  1. Towards The Skies (Konas) 3.24
  2. Candles Getting Shorter (Hensley/Konas) 4.28
  3. You’re My Life (Konas/Kerslake) 3.20
  4. Looking Glass (Konas/Hensley) 4.14
  5. Misleading Colours (Konas/Kerslake) 3.38
  6. Radio Show (Sugarman/Robertson) 3.12
  7. Plastic Horizon (Sugarman/Robertson) 3.26
  8. Farthing Man (Konas) 3.30
  9. I Never Know (Konas/Hensley) 5.41
  10. Time And Eternity (Konas/Kerslake) 2.41


  • Ken Hensley — keyboards, guitar, vocals
  • John Glascock — bass guitar
  • Lee Kerslake — drums
  • Joe Konas — guitar, vocals

Producer — David Paramor.
Artwork — Hipgnosis.

Bonus tracks on 1994 CD release:

  1. Baby’s Rich (Hensley/Konas) 2.45
  2. Somewhere In The Street (Hensley) 2.47
  3. Hey Bulldog (Lennon/McCartney) 3.01
  4. Real Love Guaranteed (Konas/Hensley) 2.29

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also
subscribe to these comments via RSS.
Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.