The Gods — To Samuel A Son (1969)

The Gods’ second album was recorded at Abbey Road Studios. It was released after the band disbanded and its former members were already in different bands. “To Samuel A Son” is often dated as a 1970 release, but the text of the back cover of the British LP specifies 1969 as the year it was originally released.

“To Samuel A Son” is a concept album. Most songs were written by Ken Hensley and Joe Konas. Musically it is a mixture of psychedelic and progressive rock. By the way, the literary style of the anonymous annotation which was published on the back cover of the original British release suggests that the authorship of this text belongs to Ken Hensley.

Track list:

  1. To Samuel A Son (Hensley) 3.29
  2. Eight O’Clock In The Morning (Kerslake) 3.16
  3. He’s Growing (Konas/Glasscock) 2.25
  4. Sticking Wings On Flies (Konas/Hensley) 2.39
  5. Lady Lady (Hensley) 3.19
  6. Penny Dear (Konas) 2.35
  7. Long Time, Sad Time, Bad Time (Hensley) 3.12
  8. Five To Three (Hensley/Konas) 3.00
  9. Autumn (Hensley/Konas) 3.12
  10. Yes I Cry (Konas) 2.40
  11. Groozy (Sugarman/Robertson) 3.38
  12. Momma I Need (Hensley/Konas) 3.35
  13. Candlelight (Hensley) 2.31
  14. Lovely Anita (Kerslake) 3.29


  • Ken Hensley — keyboards, guitars, vocals, percussion
  • John Glascock — bass guitar
  • Lee Kerslake — drums
  • Joe Konas — guitars, vocals

Producer — David A. paramor

Bonus track on 1995 CD release:

  1. Maria (Bernstein/Sondheim) 3.58

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also
subscribe to these comments via RSS.
Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.