Toe Fat — Toe Fat (1970)

Toe Fat was formed in June 1969 by the vocalist Cliff Bennett (ex-Cliff Bennett and The Rebel Rousers, ex-Cliff Bennett Band). Ken Hensley joined Toe Fat and took part in recording of their first album. Other former members of The Gods were recruited by Toe Fat, too: Lee Kerslake played drums, and John Glascock played bass*.

The album features the song “You Tried To Take It All” which is the same as the one that was released on Head Machine’s “Orgasm”, but this time it was Cliff Bennett who was credited as a songwriter. One can assume that Ken Hensley wrote “The Wherefores And The Whyes” as well.

Track list:

  1. That’s My Love For You (Allan/Roberts/Bennett) 4.01
  2. Bad Side Of The Moon (John/Taupin) 3.24
  3. Nobody (Cooper/Shelly/Beatty) 6.03
  4. The Wherefores And The Whyes (Bennett) 3.43
  5. But I’m Wrong (Bennett) 3.57
  6. Just Like Me (Carroll/Guy) 4.12
  7. Just Like All The Rest (Bennett) 2.30
  8. I Can’t Believe (Bennett) 3.59
  9. Working Nights (Bennett) 2.34
  10. You Tried To Take It All (Bennett) 4.26


  • Cliff Bennett — lead vocals, piano
  • Ken Hensley — guitars, organ, piano, vocals
  • John Glascock — bass, vocals
  • Lee Kerslake — drums, vocals
  • Mox — flute, harmonica

Producer — Jonathan Peel.
Artwork — Hipgnosis.

* Some sources say Joe Konas also played bass guitar in Toe Fat; in fact, he did not.

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also
subscribe to these comments via RSS.
Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.