Uriah Heep — Salisbury (1971)

Uriah-Heep-—-SalisburyUK-298x300Uriah Heep’s second album, “Salisbury”, was recorded between October and November at Lansdowne Studios, London, and released in February 1971 by Vertigo (later re-released by Bronze Records). Musically the album was more multifaceted than the previous one. Ken Hensley wrote three songs and co-wrote the rest of the tracks, including the “Salisbury” suite. He also sang lead vocals on two tracks, “Lady In Black” and “High Priestess”.

The title track, “Salisbury”, is a 16-minute piece for the band and the orchestra. Orchestral arrangement was written by John Fiddy. The UK version of the album included “Bird of Prey” which was a different mix than the one already published on the American version of Uriah Heep’s first album, “Very ‘Eavy… Very ‘Umble”.

The American version of the album again had a different track list. The opening track was replaced by “High Priestess”, and the side B opened with “Simon The Bullet Freak”, which was not included on the UK version.

American version of “Salisbury” LP

Track list (UK release):

  1. Bird Of Prey  (Box/Byron/Hensley/Newton) 4:05
  2. The Park (Hensley) 5:38
  3. Time To Live (Box/Byron/Hensley) 4:02
  4. Lady In Black (Hensley) 4:33
  5. High Priestess (Hensley) 3:39
  6. Salisbury (Box/Byron/Hensley) 16:02


  • David Byron — vocals
  • Ken Hensley — organ, piano, slide guitar, acoustic guitar, harpsichord, back vocals, vocals
  • Mick Box — lead guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Paul Newton — bass guitar, vocals
  • Keith Baker — drums

Producer — Gerry Bron (Hit Records Productions)

Recording and mixing engineer — Peter Gallen

Tape operators — Ashley Howe and Les Cunningham.

Bonus tracks on CD re-issues:


  • Simon The Bullet Freak
  • High Priestess (single edit)


  • Simon The Bullet Freak (US album version)
  • Here Am I (unreleased version)
  • Lady In Black (unreleased version)
  • High Priestess (single edit)
  • Salisbury (single edit)
  • The Park (edit)
  • Time To Live (edit)

Original liner notes were written by Ken Hensley.

Author: Elena Stepanova

This post is also available in: Russian

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also
subscribe to these comments via RSS.
Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.